Contact Groups are a great way to organize your contacts and to share contacts with others in your organization. Below are some pictures and written instructions.

What is a contact group?

Contact groups are a great way to organize your contact list. You can also use groups to share contacts with others.

Contact groups appear at the top of the contact list, before any ungrouped contacts.

Did you know you can add a contact to more than one group? For example, a contact could be in the Atlanta Office Group for my organization as well as in the Sales Group for my organization.

Please note that once a contact is in a group, it will no longer show in the ungrouped contacts section. This will help you organize your contacts list.

To view the contacts in a group, simply click on the name of the group. Click again to close the group.

Create a contact group

An easy way to create a contact group is to click on the Manage Contact Groups icon above the contacts list. This takes you straight to the Contact Groups tab under Settings.

Click Create Group. Click on the box next to each contact that you want in your new group.

As a shortcut, you can add all members from one group to another group all at once. For example, if I wanted to add all members of my Atlanta Office group into my Georgia Territory Group, I could go to the section called “Anyone in these groups” and click the box next to Atlanta Office.

I could then click on any remaining contacts that I want in my Georgia Territory Group.

Be sure to click Create Group to save your work.

Organize contacts with contact groups

Avoid scrolling through a long list of contacts by organizing your contact list into groups. Once a contact is sorted into a group, it will no longer appear at the bottom of the contact with other ungrouped contacts.

For example, I can make three groups: one for customers, one for vendors, and one for other contacts. Once I sort all my contacts, I will only see these three groups in my contact list. I can then click on a group to see the contacts in that group.

Don’t worry if your groups aren’t that easily defined. You can add a contact to more than one group. For example, a contact can be in the Atlanta Office Group for my organization as well as in the Sales Group for my organization.

Share contacts through contact groups

Save time by sharing contacts with other Bridge users in your organization. In order to share a contact, that contact must be in a contact group.

To get started, click on the Manage Contact Groups icon above the contacts list. This takes you straight to the Contact Groups tab under Settings.

Find a group you have already created, or create a new contact group. You will see a column titled “Who can see this group?” Click on the Add Viewer icon.

As a shortcut, you can allow all members from one group to view all the contacts from another group. For example, if I wanted all the members of my Atlanta Office group to be able to view all the contacts in my Georgia Territory Group, I could go to the section called “Anyone in these groups” and click the box next to Atlanta Office.

Click Update to save your work.

That group and all of the contacts in it will now be visible to those you selected.

Why am I seeing contact groups I didn’t create?

If you are seeing contact groups you didn’t create, they were shared with you by another Bridge user in your organization. You may not edit a contact group you did not create unless you are listed as a manager for that group. You can hide the group from your contact list if you don’t want to see it there.

Hide a group from my contact list

If you don’t want to see a group in your contact list, you can simply hide it.

Click on the Manage Contact Groups icon above the contacts list. This takes you straight to the Contact Groups tab under Settings. Find the column that says Hide Group. Click on the hide group icon.

Delete a contact group

You can only delete a contact group that you created or are a manager of. Click on the Manage Contact Groups icon above the contacts list. This takes you straight to the Contact Groups tab under Settings. Find the column that says Dissolve Group. Click on the dissolve group icon.

If you do not have permission to delete a group, you may instead hide it from your contact list.

Edit contact groups

You must be the creator of or a manager of a contact group in order to edit or manage it.

Click on the Manage Contact Groups icon above the contacts list. This takes you straight to the Contact Groups tab under Settings.

Find the Group Name column. Click on the edit group icon under the name of the group. Make any changes and then click Update Group to save your work.

Manage contact groups

As group creator / manager, you can designate other people to be managers, members, or viewers of the group.

Click on the Manage Contact Groups icon above the contacts list. This takes you straight to the Contact Groups tab under Settings.

Find the columns for managers, members, and viewers. Use the minimize/maximize arrows to show or hide managers, members, and viewers in each column.

Use the add icon to add managers, members, or viewers to the group.

Use the delete icon to remove managers, members, or viewers from the group.

Last updated November 13, 2019